//
you're reading...
Blog Posts

New Location

Sadly, I have moved on from Athens, OH. While I am pretty sure I won’t ever find another local food community quite like that of Athens, I am ready to see what Minnesota has to offer. The state lays claim to a life expectancy well above the nation average and it shows. It is refreshing to see so many people staying active outdoors, especially bikers, and countless retirees bee-bopping around like they’re younger than me.

Minnetrista, MN

Maybe there’s something in the air, or maybe it’s the 10,000 lakes that urge people to get out an enjoy their lives. Either way, it’s a great place to live. It is far more enticing in the summer though so I may be running for my life when the Minnesotan winter rolls in.

I have moved back in with my parents (like many college graduates) and am floundering to begin my next chapter in life. One thing that has remained steady through my college career and post grad life is my love for good, local food. While spending a month with my sister in north-eastern Ohio I went to the Hudson Farmer’s Market due to the suggestion of a friend. She very enthusiastically stated that it was better than the one in Athens. She lied. She lied big time. The only thing that was better was that you can bring your dog.

With much lower expectations, I went to the Mound Farmer’s Market two weeks ago here in Minnesota and it just made me miss Athens. While it was small, it had a much better selection of produce than the Hudson one. I was satisfied but it has inspired me to go on a mission and find the best farmer’s market Minnesota has to offer in the Lake Minnetonka, Minneapolis area.

We’ll see.

About brendae

Writer and explorer. I have an undying love for travel, culture, people, animals and good food.

Discussion

One thought on “New Location

  1. We love the Mill City Farmers Market in Minneapolis and the St. Paul Market in downtown too. I’ve never been to the Athen’s market, but these two are the best around here. Good luck!

    Posted by hadleybarrows | October 27, 2012, 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

2011

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

